Web Hosting Reviews

Absolutely no crap. No sneaky ways to try and make you sign up with an unreliable provider. Just 100% real and honest web hosting reviews.

Subscribe to Updates

Get notified whenever a new review is published! Subscribe via RSS or email to get updates on 100% real and brutally honest web hosting reviews.

Squidix

Squidix Review

Posted by Review Hell
Last updated on Aug 24, 2017

Squidix is based out of Indianapolis, Indiana and they started providing web hosting services back in 2010. I signed up for a 10GB shared hosting plan with Squidix in July of 2015. They also offer reseller hosting, semi-dedicated hosting, virtual private servers, and dedicated server as well as web design and development services. Right from the start I was impressed with Squidix because I requested a full cPanel backup to be restored on my new account and 5 minutes later it was done! Since then in the year I’ve been with them I haven’t faced any problems except for some downtime in late December when Linode (datacenter where my hosting account is) was facing DDoS attacks. There’s more on that further down the page. Overall Squidix has been a great web host that I continue to trust.

Speed Testing – Fast

I’m on a shared hosting plan located in Dallas, TX (Linode datacenter). Squidix also uses QuadraNet’s datacenter in Dallas,TX.

Squidix Pingdom SpeedTest DallasDallas Pingdom Speed Test — Load time: 758 milliseconds

Squidix Pingdom Speedtest NYCNew York City Pingdom Speed Test — Load time: 1.05 seconds

Uptime – SOLID

Aside from DDoS attacks on Linode in December 2015 which resulted in 100+ minutes of downtime spread over Christmas week, my downtime records show only 26 minutes of downtime in the year I’ve been using Squidix.

August 2015 – 100% Uptime (0 minutes of downtime)
September 2015 – 100% Uptime (0 minutes of downtime)
October 201599.957% Uptime (19 minutes of downtime)
November 2015 – 100% Uptime (0 minutes of downtime)
December 201599.69% Uptime (142 minutes of downtime) Downtime due to scheduled maintenance which required a server reboot to apply necessary updates on December 15th (5 minutes of downtime) and the DDoS attacks Christmas week (137 minutes of downtime).
January 2016 – 100% Uptime (0 minutes of downtime)
February 2016 – 100% Uptime (0 minutes of downtime)
March 201699.995% Uptime (2 minutes of downtime)
April 2016 – 100% Uptime (0 minutes of downtime)
May 2016 – 100% Uptime (0 minutes of downtime)
June 2016 – 100% Uptime (0 minutes of downtime)
Updated on 10/14/2016 to report uptime for the months of July – October shown below.
July 2016 –  99.82% Uptime (82 minutes of downtime)
August 2016 – 100% Uptime (0 minutes of downtime)
September 201699.97% Uptime (12 minutes of downtime) Scheduled system reboot to apply critical security updates
October 2016100% Uptime (0 minutes of downtime)
Updated on 04/02/2017 to report uptime for the months of November – March shown below.
November 201699.81% Uptime (83 minutes of downtime)
December 2016100% Uptime (0 minutes of downtime)
January 2017 – 100% Uptime (0 minutes of downtime)
February 2017 – 100% Uptime (0 minutes of downtime)
March 2017100% Uptime (0 minutes of downtime)
Updated on 08/24/2017 to report uptime for the months of April – July shown below.
April 201799.86% Uptime (59 minutes of downtime) Some downtime due to routine scheduled maintenance in response to a critical Xen security advisory
May 201799.97% Uptime (12 minutes of downtime)
June 201799.74% Uptime (111 minutes of downtime) 84 minutes of this month’s downtime was due to scheduled maintenance in the early AM hours of June 17th.
July 201799.98% Uptime (7 minutes of downtime)

Outstanding Support

Squidix has fast and knowledgeable support. Tickets are answered in minutes, not hours. As I said early, my initial cPanel account migration request was completed within 5 minutes and by the owner Sam Barrow. Looking back on my support ticket history when I experienced the downtime Christmas week, I received a response within 3 minutes, and another response from the owner 20 minutes after that.

Me (Client) 12/29/2015 11:10
Hello,
I was wondering if you could look into what’s been causing downtime for me this morning. Below is recent downtime I have logged.
Thank you for your time and help.
12/29/15 – 10:13am – 17 minutes downtime
12/29/15 – 9:20am – 47 minutes downtime
12/29/15 – 8:38am – 16 minutes downtime
12/28/15 – 2:48am – 11 minutes downtime
12/26/15 – 11:42am – 9 minutes downtime
12/25/15 – 2:58pm – 37 minutes downtime

Sreenath Vijayan (Staff) 12/29/2015 11:13

One of our service providers/data centers were facing connective issues and their engineers have fully restored it.
The servers are back online and your websites are loading fine now. We regret for the inconvenience caused.

Sam Barrow (Staff) 12/29/2015 11:33

Your site is at a server at Linode’s Dallas datacenter, they are experiencing a DDoS at the moment and working to mitigate it. Everything appears to be operational at the moment.
http://status.linode.com

Here are the status pages for the Linode Dallas connectivity issues on the days I experienced downtime in December: 12/25/15, 12/26/15, 12/28/15, and 12/29/15.

There was one scheduled maintenance to apply security updates to the server on December 15th that resulted in 5 minutes of downtime at 2:04AM for which I was notified about by email three days before hand.

Final Verdict

My invoice is due in 5 days on the 28th of July and I will be renewing for another year. Their pricing is reasonable considering what you get: fast loading speed; overall no issues with uptime (minus the December DDoS attack); and a dedicated and responsive staff. Over the past year of using Squidix I can say they are a reliable web host and I definitely recommend them.

 

Share this review!

More From The Review Hell Blog

Comments