Web Hosting Reviews

Absolutely no crap. No sneaky ways to try and make you sign up with an unreliable provider. Just 100% real and honest web hosting reviews.

Subscribe to Updates

Get notified whenever a new review is published! Subscribe via RSS or email to get updates on 100% real and brutally honest web hosting reviews.

GeekStorage

GeekStorage Review

Posted by Review Hell
Last updated on Nov 30, 2017

GeekStorage was founded in 2007 by Jay Higdon and Matthew Eli. I’ve been on a shared plan with them since November 2015. They also provide reseller hosting, virtual private servers and dedicated servers. With 10 years under their belts in this business GeekStorage has remained a small company but they have also continuously upgraded to newer/better hardware throughout. In the two years that I’ve been with them all in all things have gone smoothly.

Offering "Unlimited Hosting" Plans Now

GeekStorage recently decided to offer "unlimited hosting" plans along with their older "limited hosting" plans. I like that they still offer the older plans too. Many other web hosts have added unlimited plans in recent years and kept their original plans (e.g. MDDHosting, StableHost, HawkHost).

The fact that they do list the limits of the unlimited plans is good, regardless of the contradiction of the term unlimited.

GeekStorage Unlimited Resource Limits

The original shared hosting plan I signed up for in November 2015 was called "Basic Hosting" and it was setup on the Goliath server. In March 2016 I was migrated to an improved server called Poseidon and the plan I'm on now is called PX-1.

GeekStorage Litespeed Plans

It has plenty of resources allocated. In fact, it's better than the resource limits on the newer unlimited plans (see resources from my cPanel below).

GeekStorage Poseidon Resources cPanel

Speed Test Results

I got decent loading speeds from San Jose, California on the Pingdom Speed Test. The Poseidon shared server I'm on is located in Chicago, IL.

GeekStorage Speedtest San Jose Pingdom Speed Test — Load time: 1 Second

Support

Not much to report on here. I've only submitted one low priority ticket requesting to change the primary domain on my hosting account which Matthew took care of in a timely manner. GeekStorage will post announcements if there's any interruptions to service or unplanned maintenance https://www.geekstorage.com/blog/index.php/service-announcements/

Uptime Stats

Tracking was setup after email notification of migration.

March 2016 - 99.85% Uptime (68 minutes of downtime) - My hosting account was migrated to a new shared server with pure SSD storage. They also increased my storage and bandwidth allotments for free. I received an email notification a week before the migration on 2/29/2016 (Subject: Your GeekStorage Shared Hosting: Enhancements & Migration).
April 2016 - 100% Uptime (0 minutes of downtime)
May 2016100% Uptime (0 minutes of downtime)
June 2016 - 99.79% Uptime (90 minutes of downtime)
July 2016100% Uptime (0 minutes of downtime)
August 201699.93% Uptime (31 minutes of downtime)
September 2016100% Uptime (0 minutes of downtime)
October 2016100% Uptime (0 minutes of downtime)
November 2016100% Uptime (0 minutes of downtime)
December 2016100% Uptime (0 minutes of downtime)
January 2017100% Uptime (0 minutes of downtime)
February 2017 - 99.99% Uptime (2 minutes of downtime)
March 2017100% Uptime (0 minutes of downtime)
April 2017 - 99.99% Uptime (1 minute of downtime)
May 2017100% Uptime (0 minutes of downtime)
June 2017 - 99.98% Uptime (7 minutes of downtime)
July 2017100% Uptime (0 minutes of downtime)
August 2017100% Uptime (0 minutes of downtime)
September 2017100% Uptime (0 minutes of downtime)
October 2017 - 99.72% Uptime (126 minutes of downtime) - Power outage occurrence at upstream provider on October 4th.
November 2017100% Uptime (0 minutes of downtime)

Final Verdict

Other than a few downtimes here and there, plus the announced migration of my hosting account to a new server that went smoothly, my two years with GeekStorage has been mostly uneventful. This generally is a good thing when it comes to web hosting. I'm not that surprised since they have mostly positive feedback on WebHostingTalk. I'm going to renew my hosting plan once again at the end of the month. I'll update this space if anything changes and I'd say give GeekStorage a go if you have been considering them.

Share this review!

More From The Review Hell Blog

Comments